Day 22: Resting in Wellesley

Hey everyone. Today is a “rest” day, where the quotes are there because my watch counted 19.33 miles at the time this was being written. So it’s really only a rest for my shoulders.

Today I spent a lot of time visiting some old sites in Wellesley and nearby where I had some memories. Let’s begin the post.

Weather: Sunny all day, and between 70 and 90 when I was out.

First album of the day: Cryptopsy – s/t.
I covered the least popular record of this band on the fifth day of the walk. This was the follow-up to that record where they returned to the style of death metal they were known for. Actually, that’s a little inaccurate; they recorded three tracks in between to be released on a compilation before this record was recorded, and in those tracks you could already hear that they had returned to their old style. But the compilation was actually released after this record, so maybe no one knew they were back to their usual stuff.
This album was released in 2012, and it’s their first self-released album after leaving Century Media. It’s very heavy. In fact, I’d say it’s one of the two heaviest albums in my collection, being tied with Paradogma by Hour of Penance. The melodies from the guitars, however, are generally more upbeat for Cryptopsy, especially in contrast with the EP that was released three years after this. The drumming, though, is furious, but some of the blasting sounds messy, especially for the famous Flo Mounier.
Because the guitars riffs are not as dark as they are on other Cryptopsy albums, this record only gets a listen from me every once in a while. Today I happened to be in the mood.

Record:

After waking up and eating breakfast at my host’s beautiful home, I went out for coffee. I decided to try a shop called Caffè Nero, which I had noticed yesterday.

The espresso was okay. It could have been much stronger. Kind of like Sofá Café in Framingham, when they didn’t do the shots short. But even with short shots, Sofá Café would still be better.

The pastry in the picture is a kouign amann. The barista described it as a caramelized croissant, though it was definitely thicker than a croissant. This pastry was really good.

Then I went west down Washington Street. I found Warner Park (EDIT: I’m not dyslexic or anything, but this is actually called Warren Park), where my mom used to take me sledding. She says it was perfect, because it wasn’t too steep, so I could go up and down over and over again. She said it was one of the only ways she could wear me out so I’d get good sleep!

There seems to be more playground then I remember, but I’m not completely sure.

Continuing west, I found my older brother’s elementary school, called Schofield.

I definitely have some memory of this place, but only vaguely.

Then I went northwest and found the hospital where I was born, Newton-Wellesley Hospital. Here’s a photo.

Then I went back to where I’m staying for a bit to charge my phone. But after half an hour or so, I was off again, this time to mini-golf.

This is Golf on the Village Green, a Revolutionary War themed mini-golf course where my parents used to take me all the time. I played two rounds. On the second round they let me choose my ball from a box of special golf balls they have behind the counter. I picked a tiger striped one.

I played atrociously. But that’s okay, I was just there to have fun, and I did.

Now it was lunchtime, so I went to Papa Gino’s next door for some pizza. Ah, mini-golf and pizza, a timeless tradition… or something.

The pizza was a little overcooked, but still good.

Then I headed back. On the way, I stopped a Quebrada, a bakery, for some dessert. I don’t remember this bakery, but my mom does, and she highly recommended them. So I got a mini chocolate mousse cup.

I also got a mocha cupcake for later to have with dinner.

I’m looking forward to this one!

I’m going to eat dinner here, where I’m staying. I bought some groceries yesterday that I need to finish off. As far as I can see, I should be hanging out here for the rest of the day, but I’ll update this post if I decide to do anything interesting.

Tomorrow I’m going to reach Arlington, where I’ll stay for the rest of the trip. And then after that, Boston. We’re so close!

2 thoughts on “Day 22: Resting in Wellesley

  1. What a special time in Wellesley, Sam. I enjoyed following you around your old stomping grounds. I can almost see you mom crying with love for you as you make these nostalgic stops, and she relives the memories with you. You’re so, so close! Very exciting!!

    Like

    1. Yes, the Wellesley spots were great! Did you read yesterday’s? I especially loved the visit to his old Montessori school with his old teacher. And I loved him heading down our old street and seeing our old house!

      Gosh Sam, you are SO close. I can’t wait to read your post on Wed when you step foot into city limits!

      Like

Leave a comment